Shanghai, here we are. . .

After an uneventful flight, we landed 10 minutes early in Shanghai. The flight was a majority of Asia people, we felt like we were already the minority. When you fly to Asia on this flight, you fly over Canada and Russia, it was fun to watch the map. We unloaded from the plane and followed the swarms of people through customs. They separated Matt and Margaret from Frank and I, then they tried to separate Frank and I but when I got called I made him come with me. We got through customs with no problem and followed more to the Baggage claim. We were happy to see all our luggage coming through although the last three came out much later then the first five.

We made our way with luggage on two carts and pushing some to the main welcome area to see our names pretty quickly and see Jane, my boss greeting us at the exit. We also met Dan, my vice-principal who had water bottles for us. We found the driver and set off for our new home. We were nervous but the ride was short with lots of greenery on the way, which made me smile – many different types of flowers to view also. When we got to our Haifu Gardens complex, there is a gate to get in – we are living in our first gated community. As we entered there are bamboo trees, plants with flowers and creeks/ponds everywhere. It is nice to have nature around us.

At our building we saw an average look place, but when we got inside we were wow-ed- parquet floors and new furniture throughout. The bed and couches are hard as wood, but we are getting used to it and plan to get bed covers as soon as we can. The place is more spacious than we expected, the bedrooms are all double beds. Margaret has the great closet with built in organizer. Frank has no dresser. Matt and I have an dresser with built in hanging space with not enough drawers. We are still deciding on how to organize it, but we will get there. The kitchen is a small galley type kitchen with no oven, but nice stove.

Last night we had rice for dinner. This morning we had egg in a hole and Frank made his own toast. We went out to lunch at Wanda Plaza. Matt tried Bull Frog fried, which he liked but too much fried stuff. It included fried lotus root which Margaret and I really liked. Margaret had a noodle dish that she shared. Frank had chicken wings that were spicy. I tried the dumpling soup that was terrific. I also ordered a cucumber salad that I could have had as my meal.

For dinner, Margaret tried a noodle bowl she liked and Matt and I had rice. Frank only ate a piece of bread. I did take a nap before dinner so after, Matt and I started to go for a walk, only to run into our Head of Schools who asked if we wanted to go to an impromptu party. We ran back to get the kids and met all the new people I will be working with and one from Matt’s school. They had pizza which tasted good and lots of snacks. Frank is still not feeling great so we are hoping he feels better soon. It is almost 11:30 so I better make myself sleep.

p.s. I figured out the Internet by simply finding an ethernet plug and trying it.  🙂

This entry was posted in China and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shanghai, here we are. . .

  1. SNARLing says:

    yay! so glad you made it there ok! sounds fun already! sorry i wasn’t able to hook up with you – wondering if you ever got the thing i sent you to the naperville address? please let me know your new street address. looking forward to more PICTURES

  2. kathleen says:

    yay! you made it safe and sound! Crazy, crazy! I still can’t believe you are there. It’s fun to hear your travels, so keep posting. Glad you are at least among “friends”!

  3. Bonita says:

    How exciting, nice visuals on the food, keep it coming, lovely to hear about your new experience, hope Frank feels much better soon! 🙂

  4. Debra Reiter says:

    What an exciting adventure, keep sharing. Glad to hear your travels were safe.

  5. Angelita Surage says:

    like the bamboo gardens and the dumpling soup! think of you all the time – Angelita

  6. Carrie says:

    Hi Toni,
    I hope you are doing well. It was nice that you were greeted at the airport. How are the children doing? I hope we are able to stay in touch! Email if you need anything.

Leave a Reply

